Units for Measuring Length

Units for measuring length are discussed here.

We know that the standard unit of length is ‘Meter’ which is written in short as ‘m’.

A meter length is divided into 100 equal parts.

Each part is named centimeter and written in short as ‘cm’.

Thus, 1 m = 100 cm and 100 cm = 1 m

The long distances are measured in kilometer. This kilometer equals to 1000 meters. The kilometer is written in short as km.

1 kilometer (km) = 1000 meters (m) and 1000 m = 1 km

The different units of length and their equivalents are given here:

1 kilometer (km)           

1 Hectometer (hm)  

1 Demetre (dcm)  

1 Meter (m)

1 Decimeter (dm)   

1 Centimeter (cm)   

= 10 Hectometers (hm) = 1000 m

= 10 Decathletes (dcm) = 100 m

= 10 Metres (m)

= 10 Decimeters (dm) = 100 cm = 1000 mm

= 10 Centimetres (cm)

= 10 Millimetres (mm)

Mostly we use Kilometer (km), Meter (m) and Centimeter (cm) as the units of length.

Related Concepts

Units for Measuring Length

Measuring Instruments

To Measure the Length of a Line-segment

Perimeter of a Figure

Unit of Mass or Weight

Examples on Unit of Mass or Weight

Units for The Measurement of Capacity

Examples on Measurement of Capacity

Measurement of Time

Read a Watch or a Clock

Antemeridian (a.m.) or Postmeridian (p.m.)

What Time it is?

Time in Hours and Minutes

24 Hour Clock

Units of Time

Examples Units of Time

Time Duration


Reading and Interpreting a Calendar

Calendar Guides us to Know

4th Grade Math Activities

From Units for Measuring Length to HOME PAGE

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below. Ask a Question or Answer a Question.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Or want to know more information about Math Only Math. Use this Google Search to find what you need.