Common Tangents to Two Circles

We will discuss here about common tangents to two circles.

1. No Common Tangent:

If one circle line completely inside another circle without cutting or touching it at any point then the circles will have no common tangent.

No Common Tangent

2. One Common Tangent:

If two circles touch each other internally at one point, they will have one common tangent.

One Common Tangent

3. Two Common Tangents:

If two circles intersect each other at two points, they will have two common tangents.

Two Common Tangents

4. Three Common Tangents:

If two circles touch each other externally at one point, they will have three common tangents.

Three Common Tangents

5. Four Common Tangents:

If two circles do not touch or intersect each other and one does not lie inside the other, they will have four common tangents.

Transverse Common Tangents

AB and CD are called direct common tangents, and MN and XY are called transverse common tangents.

10th Grade Math

From Common Tangents to Two Circles to HOME PAGE

Didn't find what you were looking for? Or want to know more information about Math Only Math. Use this Google Search to find what you need.

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below. Ask a Question or Answer a Question.

Share this page: What’s this?

Recent Articles

  1. Successor and Predecessor | Successor of a Whole Number | Predecessor

    May 24, 24 06:42 PM

    Successor and Predecessor of a Whole Number
    The number that comes just before a number is called the predecessor. So, the predecessor of a given number is 1 less than the given number. Successor of a given number is 1 more than the given number…

    Read More

  2. Counting Natural Numbers | Definition of Natural Numbers | Counting

    May 24, 24 06:23 PM

    Natural numbers are all the numbers from 1 onwards, i.e., 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, …... and are used for counting. We know since our childhood we are using numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ………..

    Read More

  3. Whole Numbers | Definition of Whole Numbers | Smallest Whole Number

    May 24, 24 06:22 PM

    The whole numbers are the counting numbers including 0. We have seen that the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6……. etc. are natural numbers. These natural numbers along with the number zero

    Read More

  4. Math Questions Answers | Solved Math Questions and Answers | Free Math

    May 24, 24 05:37 PM

    Math Questions Answers
    In math questions answers each questions are solved with explanation. The questions are based from different topics. Care has been taken to solve the questions in such a way that students

    Read More

  5. Estimating Sum and Difference | Reasonable Estimate | Procedure | Math

    May 24, 24 05:09 PM

    Estimating Sum or Difference
    The procedure of estimating sum and difference are in the following examples. Example 1: Estimate the sum 5290 + 17986 by estimating the numbers to their nearest (i) hundreds (ii) thousands.

    Read More